Interviews
Reviews
News
Podcasts
Reports
Home » Reviews

Sabi «Glued On Thin Memories» (Boltfish Recordings, 2010)

Submitted by: | 21.07.2010no comment | 280 views

Japanese-British musician and designer Taro Peter Little on idm scene for almost ten years: released several EPs, has appeared on various compilations, worked with other artists, but full-length album is not reached yet. His first album «Glued On Thin Memories» was hateful quintessence of his work. The sound varies from soft idm to ambient in a spirit Secede with small splashes of piano interludes. I'm not vain mentioned Secede, because some of the tracks caused me deja vu, for example, «Three Blind Queens In Cyan» obviously there is something of «Tryshasla», the same languid bass, elements of field recordings and some fantasy happening resemble beautiful country Sanda. In «Screaming Bulb» slightly guessed «Vega Libre», as well as felt analog flavor label Fax +49-69/450464. However, Sabi nevertheless find their original style, bringing more typical idm music elements. For example, the first track «Halfspine» is such a classic idm start 2000th: melodic, with a crunch and fancy beat. In «Mano» everything else we have heard a wonderful female vocals, which is perfectly placed on the electronics. Still, idm in this album is not the first place, Sabi focuses on soft ambient textures, space and depth. In general, the mood of the plate is very relaxing, especially the second half, your cares and worries just evaporate.

The real summer album, and in all respects other than the first LP was a success. The only thing that I am a little confused, because it is a meager artwork. Such music is worth more, in my opinion. If you missed idm era such as Toytronic, early albums Maps And Diagrams and Secede's «Tryshasla» you are always on repeat, the Sabi easily fit into your music now.

Tags: ,
  • http://topsy.com/trackback?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.arrhythmiasound.com%2F2010%2F07%2Fsabi-glued-on-thin-memories.html%23english&utm_source=pingback&utm_campaign=L2 Tweets that mention Sabi «Glued On Thin Memories» (Boltfish Recordings, 2010) | Arrhythmia Sound — Topsy.com

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by 加茂ネギオ, 加茂ネギオ, Manabu Richard Nagao, Sabi / T P Little, Sabi and others. Sabi said: A review for Sabi's new album "Glued On Thin Memories" -by arrhythmiasound.com bit.ly/9QmPkM [...]

  • http://www.arrhythmiasound.com/review/floex-zorya.html Floex «Zorya» (Minority Records, 2011) | Arrhythmia Sound

    [...] «Nel Blu», кстати, мне напомнил трек «Mano» из альбома Sabi «Glued On Thin Memories» только в менее эпичном варианте. И заканчивается всё [...]

Интервью
Обзоры альбомов
Новости
Подкасты
Репортажи
Главная » Обзоры альбомов

Sabi «Glued On Thin Memories» (Boltfish Recordings, 2010)

Автор: | 21.07.2010нет комментариев | просмотров 280

Японско-британский музыкант и дизайнер Таро Питер Литтл (Taro Peter Little) на idm сцене уже почти десять лет: выпустил несколько ипишек, появлялся на различных сборниках, работал совместно с другими артистами, но вот как-то до сольного полноформатного альбома дело не доходило. Его первая пластинка «Glued On Thin Memories» оказалась эдакой квинтэссенцией его творческой деятельности. Звучание варьируется в от мягкого idm до эмбиента в духе Secede с небольшими вкраплениями пианинных интерлюдий. Я не зря упомянул Secede, поскольку некоторые треки вызывали у меня дежа вю, например, в «Three Blind Queens In Cyan» явно есть что-то от «Tryshasla», тот же томный бас, элементы полевых записей и некая сказочность происходящего напоминают прекрасную страну Sanda. В «Screaming Bulb» слегка угадывается Vega Libre, и немного чувствуется аналоговый привкус лейбла Fax +49-69/450464. Однако, Sabi тем не менее удаётся найти свой оригинальный стиль, привнося больше характерных для idm музыки элементов. Так, например, первый трек «Halfspine» это такой классический idm начала двухтысячных: мелодичный, с хрустами и замысловатым битом. В «Mano» ко всему прочему мы ещё слышим замечательный женский вокал, который прекрасно ложится на электронику. И всё-таки idm в этом альбоме не на первом месте, Sabi делает упор на мягкие эмбиентные текстуры, пространтство и глубину. Вообще настроение пластинки очень расслабляющее, особенно вторая половина, ваши заботы и тревоги просто улетучиваются.

По-настоящему летний альбом и во всех отношениях отличный, первый лонгплей удался на славу. Единственное, что меня немного смутило, так это скудноватое оформление. Такая музыка достойна большего, на мой взгляд. Если вы соскучились по idm эпохи Toytronic, ранних альбомов Maps And Diagrams и «Tryshasla» у вас всегда на рипите, то Sabi легко впишется в вашу музыкальную картину.

Метки: ,
  • http://topsy.com/trackback?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.arrhythmiasound.com%2F2010%2F07%2Fsabi-glued-on-thin-memories.html%23english&utm_source=pingback&utm_campaign=L2 Tweets that mention Sabi «Glued On Thin Memories» (Boltfish Recordings, 2010) | Arrhythmia Sound — Topsy.com

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by 加茂ネギオ, 加茂ネギオ, Manabu Richard Nagao, Sabi / T P Little, Sabi and others. Sabi said: A review for Sabi's new album "Glued On Thin Memories" -by arrhythmiasound.com bit.ly/9QmPkM [...]

  • http://www.arrhythmiasound.com/review/floex-zorya.html Floex «Zorya» (Minority Records, 2011) | Arrhythmia Sound

    [...] «Nel Blu», кстати, мне напомнил трек «Mano» из альбома Sabi «Glued On Thin Memories» только в менее эпичном варианте. И заканчивается всё [...]